Blog / Freelance Articles / Showcase

How I Achieved a Dream by Covering the World Series for the BBC

In the autumn of 2005, I was eleven years old and freshly besotted with baseball. Watching games on Channel 5 here in Britain was a genuine thrill, and I was hooked for life.

That year, I also encountered coverage of the sport in our newspapers for the first time. My Dad took clippings from the Daily Mirror of Oliver Holt reporting on the Chicago White Sox winning their first World Series in 88 years, and I treasured them with deep affection.

At that moment, the dream of one day doing something similar, reporting on the World Series for a major newspaper or website, became a driving force in my life. The path to such goals isn’t easy for a lad from a Wirral council estate, but I kept plugging away, through good times and bad. That byline was always a light at the end of the tunnel.

Last night, more than twelve years after I first fell in love with baseball and over a decade since I began scribbling about it, that dream was finally realised. I was asked by the BBC to write a feature article wrapped around Game 7 of this year’s World Series, with specific focus on the Chicago Cubs and their quest to end 108 years of futility. You can read the finished article by clicking here.

I still have those clippings from 2005, though they’ve smudged slightly with age. However, they’ll be filed alongside my report for the BBC, heralding a world championship for Chicago’s other team.

Thanks for all your help and support along the way. This meant a lot to me, and it wouldn’t have been possible without this platform.

Dreams can come true.

Follow @RyanFergusonHQ on Twitter
Visit Ryan Ferguson on Patreon
Like The Pastime on Facebook

One thought on “How I Achieved a Dream by Covering the World Series for the BBC

  1. Pingback: How Baseball Can Seize the Day | The Pastime

Leave a Reply

